European Economic Area

Employees with a nationality of a country of the European Economic Area (EEA) can work in the Netherlands.The EEA comprises the traditional countries of the European Union, plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. Also workers with the Swiss nationality may work in the Netherlands.

New European countries since 2004

On May 1, 2004, the following countries joined the European Union:

  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

On May 1, 2007, the following countries joined the European Union:

  • Bulgaria
  • Romania

What does this mean to Dutch employers?

The Netherlands has opened its borders to workers from countries that joined the European Union in 2004. Citizens from these countries no longer need to apply for a work permit. Employers in the Netherlands can hire staff from these countries without limitations and they can work under the same conditions as Dutch employees.

European employees via Larex Staffing Agency

Larex is specialized in recruitment and placement of technical staff from Germany, Poland, Slowakia, Spain, Romania and Czech Republic. We also welcome professionals from other European countries to apply for jobs at Larex’ clients. Our staff speaks Dutch, English, German, Polish, Romanian, Spanish,  Slovak and Czech.

If you are looking for a job, please check our our recent vacancies.
If you are an employer and looking for technical craftsmen, please request craftsmen here.